groups_and_users

Reports uses a rather unique approach to groups and users. Most systems let you make groups and after that add users that inherit the group's properties. The Reports method is more flexible and dynamic and might initially take some time to get used to.

  • In Reports users can be member of several groups at the same time. Users in more groups inherit all granted rights of the combined groups.
  • In reports ALL users are in the default group ALWAYS. This means that all users will inherit rights from that default group.
  • WARNING: Take special care whenever you are editing the default group as all edits will change the rights of all users immediately!

Go into the user management module by clicking the link. Select 'Groups' from the sidebar..

  1. Shows the selected group to edit
  2. Shows the tab that's currently displayed
  3. Show the items from the selected tab, in this case all users in the system, with a toggle to show whether they are member of this group. Currently we are looking at the default group which holds all users.

  1. Expand the 'Jobs' view group to see details
  2. All views in the 'Jobs' viewing group
  3. Overview of the 'Print room'group, members of this group may watch 6 out of a total of 8 views, expand the 'Print room' view group to see which views they have access to.

Here you see a grouped list of the clients the members of this group may view. 'Flex packaging' holds 9 clients, but this group grants no rights for users to view them. Please note that the users might also be a member of another group that might give them those rights anyway. This way you can use separate groups to manage different rights.

Select the user management dialog from the sidebar.

Use the 'Create user' button to create a new user. The reports system will send the user an email with his credentials automatically.

As you can see you cannot set permissions here as they are inherited from the groups a user is a member off. However a full list is available with all permissions a user has, and specified is exactly what groups grant that permission. This makes it easy to know what groups a user should be removed from to withdraw certain permissions.

  • groups_and_users.txt
  • Last modified: 2021/05/11 09:54
  • by jeroenschilder